D’Tigers Coach new coach Mike Brown has released a 20-man provisional list for the 2021 Afrobasket qualifiers slated for Kigali, Rwanda between 27th and 29th, November.

Brown, who is officially starting his voyage with Nigeria, submitted a list that includeds 7 players who featured at the 2019 FIBA World Cup where Nigeria qualified for the Olympics in Tokyo.

Captain Ike Diogu will lead a team which includes 29-year-old Stan Okoye (Gran Canaria), Ben Uzoh, Ike Iroegbu, Talib Zanna, Ekpe Udoh and Michael Eric.

2015 NBA winner with Golden State Warriors, Festus Ezeli will be on the flight to Rwanda for a chance to represent Nigeria for the first time, alongside a member of the 2015 Afrobasket winning team, Mike Gbinije.

After missing the final 12-man team to the world cup, France-based Ike Nwamu will make another return to the team alongside Tonye Jekiri, Christopher Obekpa, Braxton Ogbueze, Mike Efevberha, Obinna Emegano, all of whom featured in the team’s 2019 qualifiers series.

Chima Moneke, who has averaged 12.3 pts and 5.8 rebs in 4 games for Orléan in the French league has also been called up for the first time, alongside Zaid Christopher Hearst-Okpalannaka who plies his trade in the second tier of the French league.

Other new faces who will hope to earn their first cap include Real Betis powerforward, Obi Enechionyia alongside Ogbunu John and Rasheed Sulaimon who play for Casademont Zaragoza


1.      Stan Okoye                    Small Forward         Club Baloncesto Gran Canaria (Spain)

2.      Ikechukwu Nwamu       Shooting Guard        Cholet (France)

3.      Ike Iroegbu                    Point Guard                          Capital City Go-Go (NBA G League, USA)

4.      Talib Zanna                      Centre                    Hapoel Tel Aviv B.C  (Israel) 

5.      Chima Moneke                 Power Forward        Orléans Loiret Basket (France) 

6.      Obinna Enechionyia         Power Forward        Real Betis (Spain)

7.      Micheal Gbinije                Shooting Guard       BC Nevėžis (Lithuania)

8.      Obi Emegano.                  Shooting Guard       Baloncesto Fuenlabrada (Spain)

9.      Mike Efevberha               Shooting Guard        JA Vichy-Clermont Métropole (France)

10.  Michael Eric                     Centre                      Turk Telekom Basketball (Turkey)

11.  Tonye Jekiri                      Centre                      Club Deportivo Saski-Baskonia (Spain)

12.  Rasheed Sulaimon           Shooting Guard                   Casademont Zaragoza (Spain)

13.  Zaid Hearst-Okpalannaka  Shooting Guard     Antibas (France) 

14.  Ekpe Udoh                              Centre 

15.  Ben Uzoh                                Point Guard

16.  Christopher Obekpa                 Centre

17.  Ike Diogu                                Centre 

18.  Braxton Ogbuezue                  Guard

19.  Festus Ezeli                             Centre

20.  John Ogbunu